The building was bequeathed to Jersey Heritage in 1984 by Brenda, Lady Cook. The Gallery is named after her husband - an artist, musician and art historian, Sir Francis Cook. Sir Francis moved to Jersey in 1948.
In the 1970's he bought the former Methodist chapel at Augres, which he began to convert to a studio and gallery. The conversion remained unfinished at his death, and in 1984 his widow, Brenda, Lady Cook, made a donation of 1,200 paintings to Jersey Heritage, along with the property.
A programme at the Gallery called Meet The Collections allows visitors to see some of the museum collections which might otherwise be in store. During these open days visitors can see some of the paintings by Sir Francis Cook bequeathed to Jersey Heritage by Brenda, Lady Cook.